Nominate Orphaned Land to 2013 Nobel Peace Prize

Image

Here is my petition to nominate the Israeli metal band Orphaned Land to the 2013 Nobel Peace Prize. Orphaned Land has managed to create a reality of coexistence in the region that has escaped politicians and peacemakers alike. This petition is just step one in the process of nominating this band. It’s goal is to generate support and buzz. If you haven’t already signed it, please do and share with your online community. Let’s make history.     

9 responses to “Nominate Orphaned Land to 2013 Nobel Peace Prize

  1. Bernardo Hourmat

    Dear Ben,
    Hello from Portugal. I’ve just read an article on Orphaned Land published in a daily newspaper (Público) where they mentioned your efforts in researching and getting the word out on the work these guys have been doing for years now.
    I myself have also been a student of IR and a big heavy metal fan.
    I’m also doing a small article for a blog I contribute to, and I hope you don’t mind if I mention you in there.

    If you want, feel free to stay in touch.

    I’ll be checking here often, I think.

    Cheers

    Bernardo

  2. Hi Bernardo,

    Thank you for the kind words. Of course you can mention me. It is my honor. Please send it to me when you finished. I look forward to reading your work.

    All the best,

    Roi

  3. Congratulations for this petition and your efforts, I think they deserve this prize because they have united people through music in a more effective way than any other efforts, I wish they get the prize, With all this problems occuring between Israel and Gaza, hearing about Orphaned Land and their efforts make me feel that humanity is not totally lost. I also love their music. I know that the region is going through very hard times right now, I pray for peace in middle east. I am from Mexico and hearing about this this conflicts really hurts me.

    Orphaned Land Rocks!!!
    PEACE AND LOVE FOR MIDDLE EAST!!

  4. YES, I approve…. I now only listen to foreign metal bands…Like HIM , Nightwish, Rammstein, bullet for my valentine etc…I think american styled metal bands are garbage compared to the rest of the world. When i say that i mean anything that is post 1970-1980/early 1990s… Also included with this exception early 1980’s 1990s nine inch nails, and industrial/hardrock/metal…

  5. Thanks Billy. We should talk metal someday :-)

  6. Dear Ben,
    My name is Nadia, and I am a global studies major at UCLA. I am writing my senior thesis on the globalization of metal culture, its influence on youth identity, and its ultimate potential to overcome nationalist and religious tension. In this I am researching the popularity and influence of Orphaned Land in the Middle East for my case study, and I’m referencing your petition as a featured point in my paper!

    I truly admire and respect your efforts. Keep fighting the good fight!

  7. Hi,

    Check out this unique version of “Jeremy” recorded by members of the well-known Israeli band “Orphaned Land” and their friends in an effort to Bring Pearl Jam To Israel #bringpj2il #pearljam2013 #orphanedland #jeremy

    Join at :
    https://www.facebook.com/Bring.Pearl.Jam.To.Israel

Leave a Reply

