Anpeace Sadat

Mona Eltahawy writes an excellent piece in Middle East Online on the need of both Israelis and Palestinians to channel the courage, vision, and creativity of the late Egyptian president Anwar Sadat.

The man may have had the word “war” inscribed in his first name, but thirty years ago (November 19, 1977) he shocked the world by calling for peace from the podium of the Israeli knesset. The move cost him his life – but the president had forever set the precedent for the vision and courage that peace and the Middle East demands.

I am re-naming November 19 ANPEACE SADAT day!

3 responses to “Anpeace Sadat

  1. Another excellent piece. write more

  2. I always like what Mona says… I think she really rocks.
    But I have a question for you Roi- Do you really expect much from this comming peace talks??
    I really wish for something to happen… I think both sides had enough. Only if politicians understand this. Acually sometimes I feel that they are happy about what’s going on. It’s keeping them busy and having something to talk about!! 😉

  3. No, I dont expect much to come out of this summit. But perhaps our lower expectations will enable these politicians to get it right? I am always hopeful.

Leave a Reply

