Jewcy Thoughts: My (Tough) Love Letter To Israel

As everyone knows, Israel is turning sixty tomorrow. For the occasion I published over at Jewcy.com a (tough) love letter to my country. As you will read, the letter is more of a creative piece than my standard articles. Hope you enjoy it:

Dear Israel,

Your son, the poet Yehuda Amichai, once described you as a land divided into two districts: memory and hope. The residents of each district mingle with each other; they are, Amichai tells us, either returning from a funeral or a wedding.

Contemplating you at sixty I find myself planting my feet in both of your districts of memory and hope – a man simultaneously returning from a funeral and a wedding.

To read more, please click here. As always, I encourage you to leave your insightful remarks at the end of the article.

Leave a Reply

